photography

Owl Obsessed

A parliament* of Great Grey owls has taken up residence in my neighbourhood. Well, sort of. More outside my ‘hood… where all the trees and fields are.

So my dad and I snowshoe-ed in to try our luck at finding one. We found three!

I learned that birders are intense. One guy was wearing full brown camouflage and carrying a lens – also in full camo – longer than my torso. I wondered briefly what he thought he was blending in with as he was standing in a field full of snow and, I mean, these are owls we’re talking about.

Notes:

*A group of owls is called a parliament. I assume that is why they are here in Ottawa… to show that some parliaments are actually interesting. But the group really ought to be called a posse. Just because.

Leave a Reply

